The Very Hungry Caterpillar Party Food!

131

116

117

115

112

I had such a fun time planning my son’s first birthday party! I originally was planning on doing a monster theme for his party, but came across this idea for a theme on Pinterest and couldn’t resist! I have to admit that the cake was completely inspired from Pinterest. I saw their cake and copied that idea with a few of my own touches. People always say “You are so creative!” and I always say “Thank you, but I am not that creative, I am just good at being a copy cat!”
I will go into detail on some of the other things I made for his party in future blog posts, but for now, lets focus on one of my favorite subjects: FOOD! With the exception of the tortilla roll ups and the grape skewers made to look like caterpillars, I pretty much stuck to serving foods that were in the book The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. I served apples, pears, plums, strawberries, oranges, watermelon, salami and cheese with crackers, and a fruit dip made of equal parts marshmallow fluff and cream cheese. I displayed the food on platters and I made little cards to go in front of the platters that each said something like “On Monday, he ate through one apple, but he was still hungry.” I did this for all of the food being served. I made cupcakes that were decorated to look like an ice cream cone was on the top of it, because in the book, “he ate through one ice cream cone” on Saturday. If you are interested on making these cards, I will be posting instructions in a separate post soon! Much of the fruit that I served, was highly perishable, meaning that they brown very quickly after slicing them and being exposed to the air, so I used a product called “fruit fresh” to keep this from happening. I followed the instructions on the bottle and used the diluting in water set of directions. I tripled the recipe for the amount of fruit i was serving. I just let the fruit soak in the solution for about 30 seconds or so and then plated it onto the platters. To my surprise, that stuff really works well! I took my left overs, cut them up and made them into a fruit salad and they stayed nice and bright (not brown) for about 3 days after being cut up!

Leave a comment